Main index

Renunciates of Darkover


First Publication:

New York: DAW, March 1991

Reference edition (in this Web site):

Daw Books, ISBN 0-88677-469-1

"Official" presentation (from Daw Books)

From Guild House to Lord's Court, the Free Amazons ply their trade, serving as mercenaries wherever there is need, banding together in comradeship, setting themselves apart from the everydat rules of Darkovan society, earning their freedom with blade and deed, and freely giving shelter and assistance to any woman in search of a safe haven.

From a fledgling matrix circle formed by Renunciates to a Free Amazon hired to protect Comyn Lord Varzil from an assassin's deadly threat to Marion's own recounting of a seemingly insrumoountable conflict between Camilla and Rafaella -- well-remembered characters from her magnificent novel, The Shattered Chain -- here are twenty-two brand new tales about those dauntless Darkovan heroines beloved by the countless readers who are always eager to return for new adventures on the world of the Bloody Sun.


  • Strife by Chel Avery
  • Amazon Fragment by Marion Zimmer Bradley
  • Broken Vows by Annette Rodriguez
  • If Only Banshees Could See by Janet R. Rhodes
  • A Midsummer Night's Gift by Deborah Wheeler
  • The Honor of the Guild by Joan Marie Verba
  • A Butterfly Season by Diana L. Paxson
  • Misjudged Situations by Kelly B. Jaggers
  • Awakening by Mary Fenoglio
  • Carlina's Calling by Patricia Duffy Novak
  • A Beginning by Judith K. Kobylecky
  • Set a Thief by Mercedes Lackey
  • Shut-in by Jean Lamb
  • Danila's Song by Vera Nazarian
  • A Proper Escort by Elisabeth Waters
  • The Lesson in the Foothills by Lynne Armstrong-Jones
  • Summer Fair by Emily Alward
  • Varzil's Avengers by Diann S. Partridge
  • To Touch a Comyn by Andrew Rey
  • About Time by Patricia B. Cirone
  • Family Visit by Margaret L. Carter
  • Dalereuth Guild House by Priscilla W. Armstrong

copyright 96-99 Fabrice Rossi (

source file (Last modification: Wed Apr 21 17:21:45 1999)