Main index

Red Sun of Darkover


First Publication:

New York: DAW, November 1987

Reference edition (in this Web site):

Daw Books, ISBN 0-88677-230-3

"Official" presentation (from Daw Books)

Rites of Power

Dakover, world of legend, where ancient power has awakened humans to their own hidden talents, where the changed humans of this planet of the Bloody Sun must face the challenge of recontact with Terra, of the native chieri, and of te laran powers they must control at all costs.

Here is an unforgettable journey of exploration into the heart of Darkover power as Marion Zimmer Bradley and The Friends of Darkover take us from Tower to Domain to Guildhall... from an age when the native chieri guarded the greatest matrix of all... to the moment when Ariada Aillard makes an alliance that will forever change the laws of Domain rule... to the time when Regis Hastur has gathered together those with laran talent in an attempt to bridge the gap between Terrans and the people of Darkover.


  • A Different Kind of Victory by Diana L. Paxson
  • The Ballad of Hastur and Cassilda by Marion Zimmer Bradley
  • Flight by Nina Boal
  • Salt by Diann S. Partridge
  • The Wasteland by Deborah Wheeler
  • A Cell Opens by Joe Wilcox
  • The Sum of the Parts by Dorothy J. Heydt
  • Devil's Advocate by Patricia Anne Buard
  • Kihar by Vera Nazarian
  • Playfellow by Elisabeth Waters
  • Different Path by P.J. Buchanan
  • The Shadow by Marion Zimmer Bradley
  • Coils by Patricia Shaw Mathews
  • The Promise by Mary Fenoglio
  • The Dare by Marny Whiteaker

copyright 96-99 Fabrice Rossi (

source file (Last modification: Wed Apr 21 17:21:45 1999)