Main index

Free Amazons of Darkover


First Publication:

New York: DAW, December 1985

Reference edition (in this Web site):

Daw Books, ISBN 0-88677-430-6

"Official" presentation (from Daw Books)

Return with Marion Zimmer Bradley and the Friends of Darkover to the planet of the Bloody Sun, the world of Darkover, where powerful families gifted with rare mental powers of laran rule the land, where Terran technology is seen as the greatest evil, and survival often depends on s steady sword and quickness of wits.

Here dwell the Free Amazons, who have set themselves apart from the male-ruled world, owing their lives as free citizens, equal to any man or woman, soldier or lord.

The eighteen tales in this collection, including two by Marion Zimmer Bradley herself, tell the story of these Free Amazons, and are certain to enchant anyone who has fallen under the spell of the Amazon heroines of Thendara House and City of Sorcery.


  • The Oath of the Free Amazons by Walter Breen
  • The Legend of Lady Bruna by Marion Zimmer Bradley
  • Cast Off Your Chains by Margaret Silvestri
  • The Banshee by Sherry Kramer
  • On the Trail by Barbara Armistead
  • To Open a Door by P. Alexandra Riggs
  • The Meeting by Nina Boal
  • The Mother Quest by Diana L. Paxson
  • Child of the Heart by Elisabeth Waters
  • Midwife by Deborah Wheeler
  • Recruits by Maureen Shannon
  • A Different Kind of Courage by Mercedes Lackey
  • Knives by Marion Zimmer Bradley
  • Tactics by Jane M. H. Nigelow
  • This One Time by Joan Marie Verba
  • Her Own Blood by Margaret L. Carter
  • The Camel's Nose by Susan Holtzer
  • Girls Will Be Girls by Patricia Shaw Mathews
  • Growing Pains by Susan M. Shwartz
  • Oath of the Free Amazons: Terran, Techno Period by Jaida n'ha Sandra

copyright 96-99 Fabrice Rossi (

source file (Last modification: Wed Apr 21 17:21:45 1999)